Episode 41 is the first Community Noise episode for 2020. Goodbye to an over-all pretty good, but sometimes weird, 2019. As always, we’re delighted to move on to the new year. In this episode we’ll recount some of the music and sounds that really excited us at Community Noise in 2019 and we’ll share some avenues that we hope will continue into 2020 and beyond.

We continue to curate from the explorative, the neo-classical, the avant-garde; this week features Megan Ihnen, Steve Layton, Dean Rosenthal, Soundwalk Collective, and Erin Jorgensen.  And welcoming writers and poets from Ballard’s It’s About Time Writers’ Reading Series, Denny Stern makes his KBFG debue.

Join DJ Barnabas on KBFG, 107.3FM North Seattle, Wednesday at 7pm and (repeat) Saturday 11am. We also stream from http://www.KBFGseattle.org.

Artist Song

1. Soundwalk Collective with Patti Smith — “Ivry”
2. David Bowie — “Right”
3. Sly and the Family Stone — “Underdog”
4. Jeff Buckley — “Everybody Here Wants You”
5. James Carr — “The Dark End of the Street”
6. Denny Stern — “December Declaration”
7. Dean Rosenthal — “Kansas Has This About It”
8. Megan Ihnen and Alan Theisen — “Oil Islands”
9. All Girl Summer Fun Band — “Dear Mr. & Mrs. Troublemaker”
10. Devo — “That’s Good”
11. Not From There — “Abgedroschen”
12. Helio Sequence — “Lately”
13. Ken Nordine — “Nutria”
14. Erin Jorgensen — “Spies”
15. Steve Layton — “Fade”